image image image image
First bishop: Most Rev. Adolph Marx Adolph Marx, who had formerly served as auxiliary bishop to Bishop Mariano S. Garriga of the Diocese of Corpus Christi, was the first bishop of the Diocese of Brownsville. Read the Full Story
Second bishop: Most Rev. Humberto Medeiros Rev. Humberto S. Medeiros of the Diocese of Fall River, Mass. was appointed the second bishop of Brownsville on April 14, 1966. Read the Full Story
Third bishop: Most Rev. John J. Fitzpatrick Bishop John J. Fitzpatrick was appointed the third bishop of the Diocese of Brownsville on April 21, 1971. Read the Full Story
Fourth bishop: Most Rev. Enrique San Pedro, SJ A native of Cuba and a former missionary, Bishop Enrique San Pedro, S.J. became the fourth bishop of the Brownsville Diocese, upon Bishop John J. Fitzpatrick’s retirement. Read the Full Story

50th Anniversary

Diocese celebrates Golden Anniversary in 2015

The Valley Catholic

A rich and deep tradition of the Catholic faith has endured in the Rio Grande Valley for almost 500 years.

The first seeds of the Catholic faith were planted in 1519 in the time of the Spanish Conquistadores. An expedition under the command of a Spanish captain named Alonso Alvarez de Pineda brought the first Catholics to the Gulf Coast Area.

The teachings, rituals and customs of the Catholic Church have been handed down continuously from generation to generation, fulfilling the mission that Christ entrusted to the apostles and to us.

Today, the Diocese of Brownsville includes more than a million Catholics, who worship in 71 parishes and 44 missions.

The Catholic faith may be deeply rooted in the Valley’s history and culture, but its diocese is young. While the area was part of the Vicariate Apostolic of Brownsville from 1874 to 1912, the Diocese of Brownsville was established on July 10, 1965 by Pope Paul VI. The ninth diocese in Texas was formed by detaching four counties – Cameron, Willacy, Hidalgo and Starr – from the Diocese of Corpus Christi.

The Golden Anniversary of the diocese will be celebrated with several events throughout 2015.

The Family Life Office and Young Adult Ministry Office of the diocese are co-sponsoring one-day pilgrimages of historical sites on Feb. 28, June 13, Aug. 1 and Oct. 24.

Bishop Daniel E. Flores is scheduled to celebrate an open air Mass at 7 p.m. on Wednesday, Sept. 2 in front of the mosaic at the Basilica of Our Lady of San Juan del Valle-National Shrine. The event is open to the public and will serve as the principal event of the Jubilee Year.

Vespers for clergy and religious will be prayed at 6 p.m. on Friday, Sept. 18 at the Immaculate Conception Cathedral in Brownsville.

First Bishop: Most Rev. Adolph Marx   


Second Bishop: Most Rev. Humberto Medeiros


Third Bishop: Most Rev. John Joseph Fitzpatrick


Fourth Bishop: Most Rev. Enrique San Pedro


Fifth Bishop: Most Rev. Raymundo J. Peña


The first parish   


Island named for local missionary


Cavalry of Christ


Bishop Odin


The Valley Catholic 50th Anniversary Special Issue



Catholic Diocese of Brownsville
           50th Anniversary

1910 University Blvd.
Brownsville, TX 78520

Phone: (956) 542-2501